Sherlock Holmes, Hercule Poirot, and Two Kinds of Suspense All Authors Should Be Aware Of

Add your thoughts here… (optional)

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Whatever genre you choose to write, suspense matters. Suspense will be a part of it. Of course, the best genre for suspense is the mystery/thriller genre, so today we’ll turn there to find two kinds of suspense writers can make use of.

I’m a fantasy writer, but the first genre I ever fell in love with was the mystery genre, thanks to Nancy Drew. In eighth grade I discovered Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot, and recently I started watching “Sherlock” on Netflix.

This led to me downloading all Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes novels and stories for 99 cents on my Kindle. I’ve read about a third of them so far, and I realized the way Doyle creates suspense is very different than Christie sometimes.

SUSPENSE ONE: SHERLOCK–AND YOU–KNOW WHO DID IT…. BUT HOW OR WHY DID THEY DO IT? AND HOW CAN ANYTHING BE PROVEN?

I was shocked…

Ver la entrada original 872 palabras más

Responder

